Monthly Blogging Break

Standard

I wanted to take a break from my awesome blogging format of recounting my childhood awkwardness, to rant a bit. I started this blog because I love writing and while I know I am not the best at proofreading my own crap (I notice errors AFTER I publish each post). I do feel like I have found my voice here. I hope that if anyone ever gets around to reading this they will find it hilarious or at least mildly entertaining. I was really hoping that people could relate to me in all my gawkiness. The only problem is that I have only talked about who I was as a preteen. There hasn’t been much explaining of who I am now. Well this is me…

Hi everyone! My name is Ashley. I am in my late twenties and have been married for four years TODAY (GO ME! I guess my husband should get credit too). I recently quit my good paying (AKA horrible) job to focus on things I actually like doing. Some of things apparently include getting sucked into The Good Wife on Amazon Prime. How have I lived my life without this show? Besides the mindless distractions of excellent TV shows I do try to get a little blogging in there as well. At least I am attempting to. This rant is going off topic, which only shows my second weakness out of the thousand that I could list (first being proofreading). I did warn at the beginning of post that it would be a rant. I didn’t say it would be focused or even intelligible. Anyway I love all types of writing mostly creative nonfiction. It might sound conceited, but I think I am at my best when I write about myself. It’s not just about me, but remembering people or places in those stories makes me realize that I haven’t lead that boring of a life.   The phrase “write what you know” really stuck with me from creative writing classes in college even if I really want to fight through that writing cliché.

My writing life started the day I started to journal all my little angsty thoughts into a tiny purple Lisa Frank notebook with tiny bright green aliens on the cover. (1999 at its finest!) Amongst the various grammar and spelling errors were stories of heartbreak, infatuations, and even more heartbreak (junior high was not good to me). After reading them years later I realized I was an idiot, but quite comical. Frankly I love anything that I can read and relate to. One of the reasons I wanted to start blogging was after reading The Bloggess’ book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. Her stories are so personal and are some of the most hysterical things I have ever read. Now I can only hope to be as successful as she has been, but that not reason I started it. I just want people to read my blog and either think, this chick is hilarious, or I can write a better blog than this. Either way I have made people feel something after reading my stories.

I have always wanted to start and stick with a blog. Believe me, there has been a couple that I tried only to come across them months later. (Poor little orphan blogs) I am a natural born quitter who is taking the necessary steps to change her ways. No, I don’t plan on quitting this one; even if months down the line there is no one reading. I am not writing this for followers, I am writing this for myself.

So each week I will be talking about my changes in my present, or just completely rambling on.  It’s a toss up at this point.

Leave a Reply

